© 2024 WUTC
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Supernatural Suspense for Young Shapeshifters in 'Island of Fog' Series

Keith Robinson's Island of Fog series first launched in 2009.  Aimed at children ages 9 and up, the books have found a following among adult sci-fi/fantasy fans as well.

The protagonist, Hal Franklin, is a twelve-year-old shapeshifter who can turn into a dragon.  Along with his friends, he must keep an uneasy peace between humans and mythical creatures such as dragons, ogres, and centaurs.

Noted fantasy author Piers Anthony has read the Island of Fog series and says, "I loved this novel; it starts interesting, develops tension, and concludes with reasonable explanations that relate to the whole world."

From the Amazon.com descriptionof Book One:

A lonely, foggy island is home to eight families. Twelve-year-old Hal and his friends have always wondered what happened all those years ago on the mainland, that unseen place Out There beyond the fog, and after an astonishing discovery in the woods the children are more determined than ever to find out what their parents are hiding. But their lives are turned upside down when Abigail reveals her closely guarded secret. According to her, the children are slowly changing into monsters! Are they freaks of nature, or subjects of a sinister experiment? Each child reacts differently to his or her unique monstrous transformation; after all, one may feel proud to be a dragon, faerie, or centaur, but who in their right mind wants to be a sadistic manticore or cowardly harpy? ISLAND OF FOG is a story of intrigue and conspiracy. The reader follows Hal Franklin as he struggles to accept that he and his friends are something more than ordinary children, and that their parents have been covering up the truth the whole time. With their trust shaken and the unexpected arrival of a strange woman from Out There, the children hide their frightening shapeshifting abilities and pretend nothing is wrong.

Book Eight in the series will be released July 20th, and Book Nine will be released August 20th.

In this interview, Keith Robinson also talks about one of his favorite authors: English children's author Enid Blyton, who was so prolific that she wrote more than a hundred books and thousands of short stories.

Robinson also works as a Web designer, and is the Web master for theEnid Blyton Society.