© 2024 WUTC
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Open Book with Robert Crais

Penguin Random House

Robert Crais began his career writing scripts for such groundbreaking television shows as Hill Street Blues, Cagney and Lacey, and L.A Law. But after ten years in Hollywood spent writing as one of a group of writers working on a script, he left to write novels “he wanted to read” and over which he had sole control. Since the mid-1980s, he’s written nineteen novels, published in 62 countries, featuring a private detective called Elvis Cole.

In 2014, Mystery Writers of America named him a Grand Master. Agatha Christie was the first writer to receive the award in 1955 which was presented irregularly until 1978 and is now presented annually. Other recipients include Alfred Hitchcock, John Le Carre, and Georges Simenon. His most recent novel featuring Elvis Cole is titled Racing the Light.